• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Adverts help to support the work of this non-profit organisation. To go ad-free join as a Member.

Photo
- - - - -

Why immortality?

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 pokestine

• 6 posts

Posted 21 March 2007 - 06:50 AM

Hi, I am a student (only 15 but don't hold that against me) and I am doing an assignment concerning an ethical dilemma the future human may face. I chose the topic of immortality, how it will effect the birth/death rate, the human population, strain on resources, technology advances, human mentality etc. As modern pop-culture has very few positive views I can access, I was hoping everyone here could enlighten me.

Edited by maestro949, 21 March 2007 - 08:48 AM.

#2 Aegist

• Guest Shane
  • 1,416 posts

Posted 21 March 2007 - 07:48 AM

Hi pokestine,
GREAT essay topic! I think we might be able to pull up HEAPS of great facts for you :)

First thing you should do to get you started is watch this:
http://video.google....ortality&time=0

That will actually help answer most of your questions, and then you can probably follow up with more questions...

#3 maestro949

• 2,350 posts

Posted 21 March 2007 - 08:48 AM

Hi, I am a student (only 15 but don't hold that against me) and I am doing an assignment concerning an ethical dilemma the future human may face.

Welcome.

I chose the topic of immortality, how it will effect the birth/death rate,

Death rate will obviously slow. Birth rate is tough to predict as economics, education and culture tend to be a driving factor here. Culture will adapt to longer life spans as they have in the past and people may continue to choose to have fewer children based on resources and desired lifestyle.

population, strain on resources