• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Adverts help to support the work of this non-profit organisation. To go ad-free join as a Member.

Photo
- - - - -

Moral dilemma of embryonic stem cells

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 jaydfox

• 6,214 posts

Posted 25 July 2004 - 01:31 AM

I recently had one of those "ah-ha!" moments, so I posed this question to Reason over at Fight Aging!

The question is basic, but could be approached from different directions. I'm new to the anti-aging forums, so maybe this has been discussed, but I haven't come across these objections yet.

My question has to do with the moral dilemma of embryonic stem cell research. There are those who are opposed to all forms of stem cell research, but they are a small minority, and in my opinion, they can be ignored. But those who are opposed to embryonic stem cells in particular pose the following substantial moral dilemmas: 1) you are destroying a living human organism (i.e., murder), and 2) you are using the embryo as a biological tool, degrading it as though it were something non-human

So I have a few thoughts on how this could be avoided. I'm not a biologist, so I'm asking for a biologist experienced in the field if the following possibilities make sense.