• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Adverts help to support the work of this non-profit organisation. To go ad-free join as a Member.

Photo
- - - - -

Immortal Mind :: Paul Kieniewicz

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 samwel

• 2 posts

Posted 18 May 2003 - 06:00 PM

Immortal Mind
How immortality will transform our minds

Posted Image
By Paul Kieniewicz

Today's search for the elixir of immortality focuses on medical and AI research, including nanotechnology or DNA manipulation, to transform our mortal cells into immortal ones.

However, that change may come about without external intervention, in the course of human evolution and: an idea discussed ninety years ago by Bernard Shaw in his cycle, Back to Methuselah. Shaw's spokesman, Conrad Barnabas proposes that immortality is an evolutionary inevitability.

"My good sir: I have no powder, no bottle, no tabloid. I am not a quack: I am a biologist. This is a thing that's going to happen."

Franklin Barnabas, Conrad's brother suggests, "We can put it into men's heads that there is nothing to prevent its happening but their own will to die before their work is done, and their own ignorance of the splendid work there is for them to do."

Why would immortality be a biological necessity? The present system of a short life has many advantages.

1. We pass the torch to a younger generation that doesn't have brand loyalty --- the consumers that keep our economy ticking.
2. Older people have a finite time for interfering with younger people's dating habits, and standing in the way of new ideas.
3. Better action movies and rock music, produced by and appealing primarily to young people.
4. Short lives are easier to dispense with in a war, suicide bombings, or revolution. This also makes war a viable option for defending ourselves against nasty people.