Photo
- - - - -

Pomegranate is not safe !

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 greece

• 26 posts

Posted 03 January 2007 - 07:41 PM

There are many studies which confirm that pomegranate juice inhibits Cytochrome P450 3A4 (like grapefruit).
This does not sound good to me....
We don't know how pomegranate interacts with common medications. But for sure increases blood levels of many medications.
In addition a Cytochrome P450 inhibitor may lead to further problems to men with sensitive liver !!!

What is your opinion?

#2 fearfrost

• 63 posts

Posted 03 January 2007 - 08:32 PM

Well, Im not an expert, but I do have a story.

I just started taking pomegranate, resveratrol, and lecithin supplements about 3 weeks ago. During Christmas break, my aunt gave me a nasty cold. I rarely take medicine, but to help me sleep I took some tylenol nighttime cold pills. Holy crap! Usually they just make me a bit drowsy and feel a little better, but this time they knocked me out hard and gave me a weird medicine-head feeling. The next morning I could still feel the effects and for the remainder of the morning I was very spacy and disoriented.... or more like disconnected. That was 12 hours after I took the pills.

Nothing quantitative, and I am not sure if the pills I have been taking made this happen, but it very well could be.

sponsored ad

• Advert
Click HERE to rent this advertising spot for SUPPLEMENTS (in thread) to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).

#3 niner

• 16,276 posts

Posted 03 January 2007 - 10:33 PM