- - - - -

Effects of Modafinil

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

#1 tyman

• 3 posts

Posted 21 February 2007 - 02:32 AM

Hi there,

I've been reading a lot of the forum posts and topics started, and yes, there are quite a few about people's experiences based on modafinil.

But there are a lot of people in the world and the few experiences you read are really insufficient if you want to use them to formulate some kind of justifiable argument for or against taking modafinil (especially in the long-term).

Adding another one (this thread) may not be much help, but it might add some diversity to the current data you can access.

To explain, I'm a 18 year old male, studying in an Oxbridge university (I won't disclose which of the two, although it may become obvious as the experiment progresses). I am in my first year and am now half-way through the second term (of three). I swim regularly - 2 times/week, 1.4 miles each time; run every other day for 1 hour and eat a balanced diet, drink lots of water, generally look after my body.

I started taking modafinil on the Feb 14th while everyone else was celebrating Valentine's. :) My aim was to be able to get a lot of work done in time I didn't have unless I did not sleep much at all for days. What happened has compelled me to write this and conduct a more structured experiment.

I do not take any other so-called nootropics. I do however consume 6 eyeQ tablets (fish oil tablets) per day (made by equazen). From their website:

In 2 x 500mg eye q capsules, 2 x 500 mg eye q chews or 1 x 5ml tsp. of eye q liquid, there is:

* EPA: 186 mg
* DHA: 58 mg
* GLA: 20 mg

I'm not sure how that affects modafinil however. 6 per day is recommended by the instructions, although after 12 weeks I have to reduce intake to a maintenance level of 2 capsules per day.

Preliminary Test: