Photo
- - - - -

Magnesium Stearate (aka Stearic Acid)

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 newshadow

• 28 posts

Posted 10 June 2007 - 12:16 AM

howdy. im new here but have been studying ''this'' for ten years. like most of you i supplement by trial and error. i was a pre-med student and so am lucky to understand what the hell these researchers are going on about in the online journals.

ill be contributing when i can. im certain that i will learn much from you all and you will no doubt learn from me.

let me start by letting you know about my concern regarding a substance that almost all supplement manufacturers use to prepare capsules and pills. its called magnesium stearate and or stearis acid. ive had to return a lot of supplement s because they contained these substances even after i was assured by customer service or a label on a website that it would not. many of the brands ive read you guys recommend or mention use 'ms' and or 'sa'. in case you dont know why i now buy only powders or liquids is because or articles i have read like the following:

Magnesium Stearate (aka Stearic Acid)
Poisonous Flowing Agents
Over 90% of the vitamin/mineral products consumed today
contain magnesium stearate, also known as Stearic Acid.

“Stearic Acid inhibits T-cell dependent immune responses. Plasma membrane integrity is significantly impaired, leading to a loss of membrane potential and ultimately cell function and viability.”

Tebbey PW, Buttke TM, “Molecular Basis For The Immunosuppressive Action
of Stearic Acid on T cells”, Immunogy, 1990 Jul; 379-86

“ When cells were exposed to stearic acids and palmitic acids, there was a dramatic loss of cell viability after 24 hours. Cell death was induced by stearic and palmitic acid.”

PMID: 12562519 (PubMed) Ulloth, JE, Casiano CA, De Leon M. Department of Microbiology
and Immunology, East Carolina University School of Medicine.

“T-helper cells become the target of stearic acid.”

PMID: 6333387 (PubMed)