Photo
- - - - -

Minimum effect Retin-A (Tretinoin) use

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 edward

• 1,404 posts

Posted 14 August 2008 - 08:43 PM

OK all you skin gurus (Fredrik, Eva etc.) I am straying away from supplments, diet, nutrition etc. to ask a question as skin is not my area of expertise. It appears from what I have read on here (correct me if I am wrong as I am a novice when it comes to skin care), the original now pretty inexpensive Tretinoin is one of if not the best at stimulating a wide range of retinoid receptors. What is the minimum amount of applications per week one would need of say a 0.05% cream for it's rejuvenation and anti-aging effect on skin (I am trying to minimize the redness, peeling and irritation I get). Could one apply it once a week or twice a week, or? What about using a mild retinoid like Adapalene 0.3% (the only one I can tolerate everyday) every day but then Tretinoin once or twice a week, is that reasonable or would I be wasting my time.

edit: spelin n' gramur

I really want to change the title too but I can't. It should read something like "title: Minimum Applications, Minimum Side Effects Yet still a Robust Anti-Aging/Rejuvenating Effect?" subtitle: what is the minimum? is once or twice a week enough.

Edited by edward, 14 August 2008 - 09:54 PM.

#2 mustardseed41

• 928 posts

Posted 14 August 2008 - 10:42 PM